How are you thinking today?

New Year’s Eve is always full of resolutions and proclamations for change that last a short time.  Yet, within a couple of months people have resorted back to the same old thing.  I propose that we stop with these superficial, short-lived ideas and get REAL! One thing that I try to remember is that everyone has a story. When I’m frustrated with the grocery store clerk for taking 2 years to check me out, or the bank teller that was rude, I remember that they could have had something significant happen in their lives.  We just don’t know what other people have gone through. We all have hurts from our past that impact who we are today.  The key point is that they “impacted us,” they do not “define us.”  We have the power to rise above that and move past it.

What words are you saying to yourself today?  Are you part of the problem instead of being your BEST cheerleader?  Today I challenge you to look inside yourself, speak positive words, honestly acknowledging what needs to change and know that you can do WHATEVER you set your mind to.  For me, I had to forgive others.  That forgiveness did not mean that what they did to harm me was ok.  It meant that I will not let it continue to damage who I am now.  I had to decide to forgive and then start living it.  We all can do that. We all have the ability to choose positive thoughts, actions, activities, behaviors, you name it.  However, I didn’t do that on my own. Sometimes, we need the help of others to make this happen.  That is what we are here for and we need to be willing to reach out when help is needed.

So tell me…. what are the three most important things in your life? What defines you and makes you who you are?  I challenge you to become the BEST version of yourself in 2012.  Do what it takes to make improvements in your life that will last beyond the next few months and make you a better person physically, emotionally and spiritually.  Remember there are great people around you that can help.  Don’t be afraid to take a risk, find a safe person to reach out to and let them help you reach your goal, whatever it is.

New Year's Eve

Image by volantwish via Flickr

About anitakellam

Wife-Mom-Health Care Provider-Fitness Junky- Gluten/Dairy Free Foody, Aspiring Techno Geek My name Dr. Anita Kellam, DNP, FNP-C. I am a board certified Family Nurse Practitioner and maintain a practice in rural Montana. When I was a kid I was a competitive swimmer and even swam at the master's level until I had my first child. I have spent the past 15 years pursuing my professional degrees, raising 3 children and devoting myself to my family. Over the years I saw the pounds slowly creeping up. Once I completed my doctoral degree I made the decision to improve my health and fitness. Beachbody has provided excellent tools that helped me turn my house into a gym. It has been an amazing resource to help me achieve my goals and I am addicted to the products. I would love to help others on their journey to be in the best shape of their lives no matter what age or fitness level. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or like me on my webpage www.anitakellam.com.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

