What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong.

 

The Heart Truth® is a national awareness campa...

Image via Wikipedia

 In honor of the American Heart Associations “Go Red” campaign I decided to focus on heart disease.

We all know that breast cancer is devastating to women and families.  Mammograms & breast cancer have been very well advertised by the media.  However, heart disease kills 35.3% of American women over the age of 20. That’s 432,000 cardiovascular deaths a year.  More than 200,000 women die each year from heart attacks which is 5x as many women as breast cancer.  Here’s another surprise for you; more women than men die of heart disease each year.  But, women are less likely to receive appropriate treatment after a heart attack.  Women with diabetes are 2.5 x more likely to have heart attacks 

Who is at-risk?

  1. If you smoke you are 2-3x more likely to die from heart disease
  2. Have poor nutrition
  3. Do not exercise regularly
  4. Are overweight (BMI between 25 -29.9) or obese (BMI  >30)
  5. Have a family history of heart or vascular (blood vessel) disease
  6. Blood pressure greater than 120/80
  7. Elevated cholesterol levels
  8. Have lupus, rheumatoid arthritis or metabolic syndrome
  9. Pregnancy complications (includes development of high blood pressure, gestational diabetes or preterm delivery)

 What does it take to be considered heart healthy?

  1. A blood pressure less than 120/80 with no medication
  2. Total cholesterol less than 200 and no medication
  3. Fasting blood glucose less than 100 and no medication
  4. BMI less than 25
  5. Never smoked or quit over 1 year ago
  6. You get at least 150 minutes of moderate exercise or 75 minutes of vigorous exercise a week
  7. Eat a balanced diet high in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and fiber.  Fish should be consumed once to twice a week
  8. Limits saturated fats, sugar, trans-fat, cholesterol, alcohol, sodium and sugar.

Heart disease is preventable and there are things that can be done to significantly reduce your risk of heart disease. It is important to talk to your health care provider to determine your risk factors and to get support for your health needs.  Do you know what your risk level is?

http://www.goredforwomen.org

http://www.womenheart.org

 

About anitakellam

Wife-Mom-Health Care Provider-Fitness Junky- Gluten/Dairy Free Foody, Aspiring Techno Geek My name Dr. Anita Kellam, DNP, FNP-C. I am a board certified Family Nurse Practitioner and maintain a practice in rural Montana. When I was a kid I was a competitive swimmer and even swam at the master's level until I had my first child. I have spent the past 15 years pursuing my professional degrees, raising 3 children and devoting myself to my family. Over the years I saw the pounds slowly creeping up. Once I completed my doctoral degree I made the decision to improve my health and fitness. Beachbody has provided excellent tools that helped me turn my house into a gym. It has been an amazing resource to help me achieve my goals and I am addicted to the products. I would love to help others on their journey to be in the best shape of their lives no matter what age or fitness level. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or like me on my webpage www.anitakellam.com.

7 Responses to “What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong.”

  1. hello there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up
    something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website,
    since I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this
    RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content.

    Make sure you update this again soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Women Wear Red on Friday to Highlight Heart Health by Yahoo News HealthDay | The Wise- News, Content, and Publishing - February 3, 2012

    […] What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong… (anitakellam.wordpress.com) […]

  2. How Dental Gum Disease Increases The Risk Of Heart Disease - February 3, 2012

    […] Heart: 10 Tips to Improve Cardiovascular HealthOne Simple Change for Health and for the EnvironmentWhat is the #1 killer of women.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } // initialise plugins […]

  3. GO RED! Why? by Maria Dorfner « MEDCRUNCH - February 3, 2012

    […] What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong… (anitakellam.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Reducing Heart Disease Risk | | Home Instead HoustonHome Instead HoustonHome Instead Houston - February 6, 2012

    […] What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong… (anitakellam.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Living With Heart Disease..Eat For Good Health | HealthKnowHow FROM NurseWorkz.com - March 22, 2012

    […] What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong… (anitakellam.wordpress.com) SHARE THIS!EmailPrintFacebookDiggReddit […]

  6. Heart Disease..Eat For Good Health | HealthAtNurseworkZ.com - May 7, 2012

    […] What is the #1 killer of women? ……….. If you said breast cancer you’re wrong… (anitakellam.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

