New workout video coming out soon, Tai Cheng

I can’t wait for this to come out and thought you all would like to learn more about it.  

by Team Beachbody Game Plan Challenge on Tuesday, February 28, 2012 at 8:56pm · 

 You’ve probably heard about our next breakthrough workout program, Tai Cheng. But what exactly is it? What are the benefits? What is the best way to introduce it to your customers? These and other questions are answered in this exclusive interview with Tai Cheng creator, Dr. Mark Cheng.   

 

pastedGraphic.pdf

 

Here’s what he had to say:

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself:  

From a professional perspective, I’m a licensed acupuncturist with a PhD in Chinese medicine and a specialty in manual medicine. I’ve gone on to study strength training, corrective exercise, and applied rehabilitative neurology from some of the top human performance minds in the world. My true love, however, has always been studying the martial arts and seeing how its teachings apply in combat, in medicine, and in sports science. Outside of that, I’m a son, a husband, and a dad.

 

What is the Tai Cheng program?

Tai Cheng is a system that focuses on finding areas of limitation in the body’s mobility and points of deficiency in the body’s stability. It works to correct those limitations, and then patterns relaxed control over the new movements. We’re using the most powerful paradigms in modern sports medicine, physical therapy, and rehabilitation to dial in how we apply an ancient training method─Tai Chi. We’re also using the same logic that guides the NFL’s top physical therapists and trainers and bringing it to you with the added benefit of martial arts! 

 

What is the reason behind starting the Tai Cheng program?

To be totally honest, Isabelle Daikeler is the reason behind starting the Tai Cheng program. I was fortunate enough to meet her after she approached me for kettlebell training. During our conversations, she discovered that I taught martial arts, one of which is Tai Chi. She was kind enough to speak favorably about my training sessions to her husband and Beachbody CEO, Carl Daikeler. The rest has been history in the making.

 

How would you introduce Tai Cheng to a new customer?

Very simple. Ask the customer if they want to perform better than they’re already performing. Unless you come across someone closed-minded, you’re likely going to hear “Yes!” Also, don’t think of it as solely a workout program for the elderly or injured. This is for EVERYONE! But the best way of introducing Tai Cheng is to try the program YOURSELF. Once you do it, you’ll be able to speak about it intelligently and with absolute confidence. I could tell you about it all day long, but they’re just words until you feel it for yourself.

 

What are the top benefits of the program?

Perhaps the biggest benefit is the confidence people have after training in the Tai Cheng system. They’ve got a different level of control over their bodies, and they go on to other workout routines and don’t have to fear the same likelihood of injury. From a physical sense, people will be able to improve their body’s athletic performance (better lifts, higher reps, less discomfort, better endurance) with zero-impact training methods that can be done either on their own or in conjunction with another workout program.

 

What is the most inspirational story you’ve heard about the Tai Cheng program?

There are two Tai Cheng success stories that immediately come to mind. The first was seeing someone who had been scheduled for double knee replacement surgery and limped around for “exercise” get to the point where he could go up and down two flights of stairs without pain. That was a big one. The second story was a morbidly obese individual who broke a sweat just walking from one side of the room to the other, get to where he’s now running marathons.  

 

What are the benefits of doing Tai Cheng in a Challenge Group?

Whether it’s on Facebook or in-person, a Challenge Group offers accountability, keeps you on task, and helps you stay motivated and consistent. As my Functional Movement mentor, Gray Cook, says, ‘Be consistent and persistent, and you’ll reap the benefits!’ It’s like being in class with everyone else around you as a cheat sheet. Everyone is helping you remember what comes next, cheering you on, and inspiring the best eating habits, the best posture, the best relaxation, and the best frame of mind. How can you go wrong with that?

About anitakellam

Wife-Mom-Health Care Provider-Fitness Junky- Gluten/Dairy Free Foody, Aspiring Techno Geek My name Dr. Anita Kellam, DNP, FNP-C. I am a board certified Family Nurse Practitioner and maintain a practice in rural Montana. When I was a kid I was a competitive swimmer and even swam at the master's level until I had my first child. I have spent the past 15 years pursuing my professional degrees, raising 3 children and devoting myself to my family. Over the years I saw the pounds slowly creeping up. Once I completed my doctoral degree I made the decision to improve my health and fitness. Beachbody has provided excellent tools that helped me turn my house into a gym. It has been an amazing resource to help me achieve my goals and I am addicted to the products. I would love to help others on their journey to be in the best shape of their lives no matter what age or fitness level. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or like me on my webpage www.anitakellam.com.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

