TRAINING TIP: Protein Intake for Women

11079644_982125791797968_5243265991113079128_n

TRAINING TIP: Protein Intake for Women
Should you down egg whites all day or do you even need to pay attention to eating protein?
Each time you complete a workout, you break down muscle fibers just a little bit. To recover requires proper recovery and refueling!
Muscle needs protein (amino acids) to repair, and needs a daily supply of it as it isn’t stored in the body for when you need it.
Women are no different! Increasing your protein intake won’t start bulking you up when you lift weights. You’ll bulk up when you lift weights when your diet isn’t on point and you start adding fat all while you build muscle OR you are taking some extra hormones.
Some benefits of eating enough protein are:
1_ Controls your Appetite
2_ Burns More Calories
3_ Boost Your Immunity
4_ Aids in Muscle Recovery
So how much protein do women need to eat each day? The average amount of protein for women who workout is typically 3/4-1 gram of protein per body weight.
Where can you find protein sources so you aren’t downing egg whites, chicken, tuna, and powders?
1_ Protein Powders are a great quick portable, saving the day, way to get a heavy dose of quality protein in 1 shot.
2_ Lean Meats (Fish, pork, Flank Steak (limited amounts per week), Chicken, Turkey
3_ Greek Yogurt (if you eat dairy)
4_ Egg Whites
5_ Nuts
6_ Quinoa
7_ Beans
I’m not an expert in Vegan lifestyle, but there are a lot more sources of protein available.
Best tip is to consume protein each time you eat. Plan a balance meal each time you eat of Carbs, Protein, and Fats. Work to eat your starchy carbs in the first meals of your day and replace with fibrous carbs towards the end of the day.
If you are trying to reset your leptin levels having protein within 3 minutes of waking can help reset them.
Does this help? Any other questions about this?
If you need a sample 7 day meal plan to follow so you can see how to pair up the right foods for a meal plan- go download my free one at https://anitakellam.leadpages.net/healthyeating/
Photo Credit: Huffington Post.

About anitakellam

Wife-Mom-Health Care Provider-Fitness Junky- Gluten/Dairy Free Foody, Aspiring Techno Geek My name Dr. Anita Kellam, DNP, FNP-C. I am a board certified Family Nurse Practitioner and maintain a practice in rural Montana. When I was a kid I was a competitive swimmer and even swam at the master's level until I had my first child. I have spent the past 15 years pursuing my professional degrees, raising 3 children and devoting myself to my family. Over the years I saw the pounds slowly creeping up. Once I completed my doctoral degree I made the decision to improve my health and fitness. Beachbody has provided excellent tools that helped me turn my house into a gym. It has been an amazing resource to help me achieve my goals and I am addicted to the products. I would love to help others on their journey to be in the best shape of their lives no matter what age or fitness level. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or like me on my webpage www.anitakellam.com.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

